The MI Board of Trustees was established in April 2008. It is chaired by His Highness General Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, and contains 13 additional members, including distinguished leaders from government, academia and industry.

The Board is the highest level of authority within MI. It is entrusted to ensure that the Institute adheres to the purposes for which it was created and that the Institute’s integrity and financial resources are preserved for future generations as well as for current purposes.

The Board and its committees are responsible for reviewing and providing guidance on strategic directions regarding the Institute. It is also tasked with approving the Institute’s annual budget, new programs or courses of study, degrees to be offered and the appointment of the MI president and provost.

Members of the Board are expected to represent the interests of MI to outside constituencies, where appropriate, and to help provide financial support to the Institute. The Board meets at least once per calendar year. The work of the Board is conducted through its various committees.



HH Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan
Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces,Chairman of the Abu Dhabi Executive Council
HH Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan
Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
HE Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan
Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development
HE Mohammed Ahmed Al Bawardi
Vice Chairman of Dolphin Energy, Board Member of Tawazun Holding, Chairman of the Committee for Developing and Implementing the Water and Agriculture Strategy for Abu Dhabi, Chairman of Executive Committee of Abu Dhabi Executive Council
HE Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak
Group CEO and Managing Director of Mubadala Development Company
 HE Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber
Minister of State, Group CEO of Abu Dhabi National Oil Company, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company
HE Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh
  Chairman of Abu Dhabi Global Market

 Ali Rashid Al Nuaimi HE Dr. Ali Rashid Al Nuaimi
Director General of ADEC


Dr. Adnan Badran
Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the University of Jordan, Chancellor of the University of Petra

Dr. Fred Moavenzadeh
 Former President of Masdar Institute 


Dr. Martin Schmidt Provost of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)